Iberostar Grand Paraiso

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Worth every penny

    Reviewed by Tony on Jan 24, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our second visit to this Iberostar complex but our first time at the Grand Paradiso. Firstly, the drive up and walk-in was great but the check-in was a disorganized, which made for a rather disappointing start. However the facilities just make you relax by their design. The walk to your room is in an AC environment, which makes you feel relaxed right away. The ceilings are tall and the hallways wide and well-lit at all times of the day. Great atmosphere. The room was equally great. The rooms had a great selection of snacks and drinks. The cleaning services were great for the duration of our stay. Please be sure to tip them with their name and a thank you letter! I did have an issue with switch placement in the room, their brightly lit alarm/radio clock, and the lack of plugs by the nightstand but good beds and they don't turn off the AC in your room. Leave the room cool, to a cool hallway, and come back to where it was.... just a huge relief after a "tough" day at the pool. The pools were great, very clean and peaceful. In fact my wife and I went to go see where we were staying before... and It was like going down 3 stars in our minds. The most important part of the stay was the food and the alcohol. The restaurants were decent and the Surf & Turf buffet was amazing; you can either get off the menu or go to the buffet table. Please be aware, their water at the restaurants taste different because its filtered not bottled. This facility has real alcohol! This makes a huge difference the next day after relaxing day.... basically tastes better, digests better, and doesn't annoy you for the rest of the trip. At the other hotel in this facility we visited in our last stay, we stopped drinking because it didn't feel good. We felt relaxed the whole time, just wonderful! Pool time is 7am to 7pm. FYI the coupons they offer as incentive to book this are useless, see attached photos.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Over Promised and Under Delivered with Average Service.

    Reviewed by Kenneth R on Jan 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Upon checking in we where led to our room. Once the door was open, a terrible musty, moldy odour greeted us. I asked the host if we could be moved to another room. They declined requesting to clean the room while we waited after a long day of travel. About 90 minutes later they said the room was ready. The smell was still evident along with cleaning solutions. We again requested a move and again it was denied. With no other choice, we decided to stay the evening in the room in hopes of speaking with a manager the next morning. No luck. The second day the bath tub had only cold water and the drain had plugged. We where asked to stay out of the room the entire afternoon while they took the taps apart and replaced them along with the drain plug. The odour was still high. Next morning the electricity quit to the room. Called the front desk and several hours later a repair person showed up. He opened the panel in the closet, gave it a good bang with everything coming back on. The air conditioner would only go down to 22c and we cooked with the high humidity. Was told it was computer controlled. On the third day, I approached the manager at the main counter and asked if we could be moved. This gentleman was not in a pleasant mood as I was third in line with other guests requesting a move. By the time he got to me, his mood had deteriorated that I left. I later found out that the occupancy rate the week of Jan 15-22nd 2016 was just over 50% and felt they could have accommodated our request to move. This was not an inexpensive resort. After considering our experience, this resort is over-priced for an average experience. Noted I did not mention the quality of the food. It too was average considering our experience at other upscale resorts. The beach area is excellent as is the pool area, hot tubs and indoor pool area. The servers have a wonderful attitude when bringing meals to your table. Management was the surprise in the little attention to guests needs. Regards, Ken

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7422 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Paradise in Mexico

    Reviewed by GlobeTrotting357080() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We love this place, it’s our first visit and we will be back perhaps soon... We love the entertainment cure,special congratulations to Dan and his fire show, it was very professional and we love the activities, the food is execeptional the staff always there for you... we just love it... Make sure you visit mixology bar, we love the drinks there

    “Oh. My. God!” -Aaron’s bingo voice

    Reviewed by Melanie C() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I can’t tell you how AMAZING the staff made our experience. Aaron, Adrian, Oscar, Daniel (Entertainment staff) were genuine and full of energy! At the end of the trip my husband looked at me and said “I feel like they are family!” There was never a dull moment when they were around. I loved playing bingo every day while we also played pool volleyball and other miscellaneous and equally as fun games, all day long. (Note: if you don’t like pool games and want to relax in peace, the pool is huge and you would never be bothered at the other end - or there’s other pools, very very quiet there, not for us) Alejandro at the mixology bar KILLED it with every request, even when we were vague about what we wanted and he almost read our minds(or taste buds!) and Christian the Somm ROCKED!! We are very particular about our wine choices and with their vast menu, it was hard to decide. Christian showed us many wines and totally did not push us to purchase any out of the all inclusive wine menu. After a couple of nights we splurged and purchased wine at dinner, and per the suggestion of Christian we loved this wine! Amenities and finishes made us feel like royalty. Everything was SO clean. Our maid, Fabiola, knocked it out of the park. She decorated with floral and towel arrangements and always made our room so inviting, even though we can be messy at times. Food was great! So many choices for dinner, both on menu and at the restaurants. Our favorites were the Italian and Japanese. The Japanese has 2 menus, one for hibachi and one for a table. So we went two different nights and had both experiences, both equally as yummy. We like to go to the gym - there was TWO! Very clean with great quality high end machines and so many to choose from - classes too! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!! Coming from VERY picky people, who travel to all inclusive resorts often, this place knocked it out of the park!

    Best service ever

    Reviewed by Jim B(Williamstown, New Jersey) on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We’re not even finished our stay in Iberostar Grand Paraiso, and I felt like I needed to tell everyone how great it is. Listen, almost every resort has the same amenities. What separates this resort from the rest is the people working there. I can’t say enough about the workers who have made our stay phenomenal. Daniel absolutely left us in awe after his fire show. He was the star. Turns out, he also works during the day on the entertainment team, and he makes it exciting to participate in all the fun activities. Oscar had the whole pool cracking up when he was hosting the pool games. He is the kinda guy you want to have a drink with. Our dance instructor, Aarón, had everyone laughing and learning salsa. Also shout out to the new girl who just started (I forget her name, something like getsimani), and also to the bartender at the bar near the cigar bar. Amazing. Seriously, do yourselves a favor and stay here with this amazing team.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing experience!!!

    Reviewed by Nicole S() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Iberostar Grande Selection in Playa Del Carmen, due to us attending a destination wedding it was amazing. The wedding was beautiful and that particular day the weather was as perfect as it could be. When you arrive at the resort unpin checking in they offer drinks and a cool hand towel while at the front desk. We upgraded our stay at Iberostar with an ocean view. With that upgrade we had concierge service and butler service. Whatever you asked for they find away to get what you requested of course within reason Trini was of the head of concierge service he made sure our need and want was meant. Needless to say the service was great the food was awesome even the room service food was delicious. They had activities everyday and amazing shows almost every night even though we only made it to like two shows. Tsunami was amazing and sweet young lady to talk to and she was very informative. Tsunami made sure we were okay each time we seen us and almost sure that wasn’t part of job being that she handled activities. We’re definitely coming back to stay again. Here’s what’s ironic, my husband has never cared to stay at resort he’d rather take an cruise and can’t wait until we return in 2021. Tsunami of you read this... we’ll see you in 2021. It was a pleasure meeting you and all the other employees that made our stay so awesome.

    Best vacation ever

    Reviewed by gpk5004(Punta Cana, Dominican Republic) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I went here for our 3 year anniversary and it was amazing! The star friends event staff was top of the line and made the entire trip so enjoyable. Oscar, Adrian, Aaron, and Daniel had games and activities going all day! Chef Octavio was fantastic with the ceviche class and meals all week. We will no doubt be going back!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX