Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    Over priced and bad service!!

    Reviewed by Bert on Mar 11, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    The location of this hotel is great but that was the only good thing about it. Booked our holiday on line and booked the Honeymoon suite but on arrival was told we only booked deluxe and had to wait till the next day to talk to agent. The deluxe room they put us in was a total dump!!! Smelt so bad could hardly sleep and wouldn't use the bathroom because it was so gross!! To get the room I thought I booked cost us a huge amount!! Had to complain every day for more bottle water and finally gave up and bought our own even though the agent told us to brush our teeth with only bottled water. Only hot meal we could get was at pool bbq the other 2 restaurants the food was barely warm. Husband sliced his toe open getting out of pool because there were pool tiles missing. The maid and waiters at pool were awesome but found with most staff if you didn't have deep pockets for big tips you got no service! Very disappointed in the hotel and way over priced for what you get!! When booking make sure to ask for a renovated room!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3343 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great resort - wonderful value

    Reviewed by Tammy L(Athabasca) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Buenaventura Grand from March 21 to April 4th. Although check in was seemless, the front desk could use a little improvement in their customer service - regardless of what you asked them, they didn't have an answer for you. That being said all of the other staff was amazing - Gustov met us for breakfast the first morning, and other than the two days he was on days off; he greeted us with our coffee and orange juice every morning. He then moved to serve at the pool area, and was always had a smile when we saw him. Edwado was our server on the beach - amazing man - he was also always smiling and most helpful. Our glasses were never empty - we had custom cups - mine and the other female on the trip said "Mamacita needs a Margarita" He referred to us a mamacita all the time. The resort is one of the cleanest I have ever been to, the staff are always cleaning; my husband even complained that every time he tried to use the lobby bathroom it was being cleaned ... The resort is small, the restaurant options are limited, but the food is fantastic regardless if you are going to the buffet or one of the other two restaurants - amazing, and the selection was fantastic. We had never stayed right downtown before, and it was nice to have the option to wander around the malecon and flea markets without having to cab it. All in all, it was a fantastic two week vacation - I would recommend this resort to everyone.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Steve & Kelly's trip

    Reviewed by KellyB4045() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was an extremely well run property. Always clean, well maintained & what a magical setting. The sky bar was the highlight. We sat there every night for drinks. The staff was very friendly & competent . Rina in guest services was extremely helpful & informative & went the extra mile to make us comfortable & helped make this a great vacation. David in guest services was also very helpful & always had a smile. Great people, great place, & very afordable. Cheers

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great place

    Reviewed by 364timothyw(Chicago, Illinois) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Reasonable rates and close to downtown. I have been to this hotel 7timesin 3 years. They have done some major improvements since I started staying there. It is very clean and within walking distance to the Malecon boardwalk

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great place for the price and location

    Reviewed by MarinLivin(San Francisco, CA) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were hesitant with the mixed reviews but went for it and were so glad we did. You can’t beat the location which is within walking distance of the Malecon and a short drive to Old Puerta Vallarta. We came with our three and six year old and there were tons of kids and fun activities for them to enjoy. This place seems to attract really down to earth people who’ve returned several times. Like we will too. The food was impressive, the staff amazing, and they really care for this property. Cleanliness is key. If you’re going to do all inclusive, this is the spot simply because you can enjoy the town and it’s culture at the same time. Otherwise, just do a cruise.

    Amazing Location and Wonderful Staff

    Reviewed by ces206(Seattle, Washington) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just spent a week at this perfectly situated, mid-sized resort on our first trip to Puerto Vallarta. First the positives: This is the closest beachfront resort (5 min walk) to the Malecon and the excellent diversity of restaurants and humanity along the waterfront; we could not imagine being trapped in the high rises down the beach and needing a cab to get into Old Town. Another thumbs up for the friendly and incredibly hard working staff. Shout outs to Claudia in the buffet, Eduardo at the pool, and Rafael at the front desk. Like any all inclusive the food was mixed, but the breakfasts were great, and snacks throughout the day quite nice. We were less enthusiastic about the dinner selections, hence the walks down the Malecon in search of more interesting and tasty fare. And of course the drink selection was limited, but hardly a barrier to a good time. Our rooms were serviceable, especially for the price. Other reviews have noted a mustiness, which I think is part of travelling to a hot, humid environment more than a specific issue with this property. Our rooms were hardly spacious, but again, just fine. If you can, get a garden view room... we looked out on the neighboring parking lot and had no lanai... but no one wants a lanai over a parking lot when the pool and beach are seconds away. The one complaint we had all week was the room our teenage son and his friends stayed in suffered a broken air conditioner. It took nearly 24 hours and 5 service visits before I was finally able to simply get them moved across the hall to a new room. Why was this so difficult? It wasted a lot of time checking the room, visiting the front desk (and getting a mildly condescending denial of a room switch from the desk manager, Yair), before Rafael at nearly 9pm got the move completed. Overall, we would happily return. Cannot imagine a better place to enjoy this great town.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX