Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    F

    we love the stay so much we'll be going back!!

    Reviewed by First vacation on Jan 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and myself needed to get away from it all and had a great time taking excursions to do some zip lines and to hang out with some very cool monkeys . The people were great very friendly and at the very last night they put together a very romantic bath outside for my wife and me to enjoy.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    A beautiful resort

    Reviewed by Westjet Honeymooners on Aug 14, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    Overview: The Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort is fairly close to the airport, about 25 minutes. The staff at the resort were welcoming and always willing to help. The hotel is kept clean and its evident by the amount of staff dedicated to maintenance and cleanliness. The entertainment team truly do their best to entertain, and the evening shows are overall pretty fun and interesting. Throughout the day you can participate in fun activities, however, you have to make the effort to find someone involved with the entertainment team. A couple of times they were on the beach promoting the event, but otherwise they hang around the pool. The beach area is well maintained with two seating areas, one with palm trees and the other with huts. Plenty of space is available at both sections. That being said, people do reserve spots with their towels, since you can get unlimited towels, people tend to take several towels and reserve spots near the pools and spots at the beach. It is not uncommon to see an empty spot reserved for the entire day with nobody using it, the resort needs to rectify this issue. Our experience: The hotel forgot it was our honeymoon so we had no special treatment until I mentioned it to them, they rectified the problem immediately and provided us with breakfast in bed and a banner on our door displaying it was our honeymoon which was torn down by someone likely drunk that night. The hotel replaced everyone's banners in our hall except for ours, at this point we didn't care. For people concerned about mosquitoes and zika, the hotel takes this issue seriously and sprays the grounds every night. We had seen a few mosquitoes, one was in our room on check-in, but overall, its not bad at all. We sprayed repellent only at night. The food was disappointing for a 5 star resort. With all the restaurants and options, the food quality was just not what you would expect from a luxury resort. Overall, good experience and the people are excellent.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11794 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Overall, very good

    Reviewed by Jonathan R(Keller, Texas) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First thing I would like to mention is the service at the resort was fantastic. Can't say enough about the people working at Secrets Royal Beach as they were awesome. From the restaurants, to the bars (Ana Luisa), to housekeeping, butlers and especially, Milly in the Preferred Club. Rooms, we moved from one to another due to a remodel that was taking place, were ok. Quality of the bed and décor was good but, the furniture in both rooms appeared dated and needing replacement. Don't get me wrong, everything worked as it should but, just needed updating and really, how much time do you spend in your room when you are on vacation? Grounds were very well kept. Health club was great and everything worked. Didn't use the spa so I can't rate it. Food was good. I can't say it was outstanding but, was good and no complaints on any of our meals. Was able to eat at several restaurants in the adjoining NOW properties (family oriented) and loved that aspect of the resort. Great thing was this was spring break and while the resort had two family resorts adjoining it, kids never migrated over to the adult side. How Secrets manages that is amazing! Would I go back, yes. Do I expect to go back, no. This is due to the opportunity and desire to explore more areas and resorts.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Vacation

    Reviewed by coachwq() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything was great. Marcelo made sure everything was right for us. Resort was clean and well kept. People were very friendly, and made sure you were treated right. Would recommend this resort to anyone.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    A lovely stay but room for improvement

    Reviewed by nikkihawkes13(Wantage, United Kingdom) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Overall our 11 day stay was very lovely, the beach and pool area where kept lovely and clean. The hotel although it's an older property it kept very clean and tidy and the maintenance team always seemed to be tending bits and bobs around the resort. Unfortunately though there is a lot of room for improvement; House keeping: Every morning around 7.30-8.00 am house keeping came clattering down the hallways making so much noise it was impossible to sleep. We like to have a lie in on holiday and found it extremely frustrating. Overall our room was clean but I did note that the floors weren't always washed as a few times my bare feet were gritty and black! Check-in: We found check-in very abrupt and after 9 hours on an aeroplane and 16 hours travel we just wanted to get to our room. The lady at check-in demanded we provide our BA booking even though the one we had had all our details and price. We stayed at another Secrets last year in Mexico and it was nothing like this. After being bombarded with a tone of information we finally got our key and off we went. We found the staff quite overbearing and rather loud! Food; Overall we found the food to be very good I was a bit hesitant given the reviews I read. Plenty of choice in the main buffet for lunch and breakfast. Himitsu- this restaurant was very good and the fool delicious. My only feedback the staff need to relax and not rush everything it doesn't make for an enjoyable relaxed evening. It also meant by them rushing and not concentrating our order was incorrect. Portefeno- lovely Italian but needed more meat option and fish option on the menu. Overall lovely and tasty food. I am however glad that Now Larimar was next door for a few more food options the French restaurant Mercure was fine dinning and meant you could dress up properly. Again though the staff where rushing not paying attention and messed up our order but was swiftly rectified. Personally overall we had a nice 11 days and made the most of sunshine and relaxing time as we both work long hours. For the money we spent there are better Secrets resorts and I personally would not recommend this resort. Staff are too overpowering,loud and always looking for a tip and unless you asked you did not automatically get named brand spirits. Coke was always flat and cocktails hit or miss. we did not experience this in Mexico.

    Vacation at Secrets Royal Beach

    Reviewed by PatA343() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    the one negative that sticks in our minds is that no one followed the rule of no towels should be left on the chairs before 8am. we followed the rules and were not able to get a decent chair at the preferred pool because all was taken before 8 am. the last day we were there we went down to the pool at 745 am (yes we cheated) and there were two chairs left.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Trip to Punta through BookVIP.com

    Reviewed by soopurrman(Cornelius, North Carolina) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our representative from GBS, Briana Quintin, was very responsive and informative from the very start with planning our trip to Punta. Where we had not such a great first day experience (wrong room type, bad food and service), Ruby did everything she could to make it right for our next 5 days. The resort is beautiful and very well kept. The preferred access to the private pool, beach, pool bar and Oceanside restaurant is worth the upgrade, as we spent most of our time there. Aside from having to deal with locals on the beach trying to sell you jewelry, hair braiding, excursions, cigars, keepsakes, pictures with a monkey/parrot...every day, all day...the experience was pleasant and relaxing.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX