Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
    6. Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    l

    Top Quality!

    Reviewed by love.to.travel on Jul 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2015

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Very impressed with this resort, over all everything was fantastic. Food was great at every restaurant French specifically! Nighty entertainment was best we've ever seen at any all inclusive. Pools, Beaches, Staff, Rooms ... no complaints! You won't be disappointed about staying here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5229 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    week of paradise

    Reviewed by 2fishtravels(Indianapolis, Indiana) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I went to secrets playa mujeres to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. Our trip was amazing. We were treated like a King and Queen throughout our stay. The resort is beautiful, clean and filled with friendly staff. There were numerous food options, endless drinks and plenty of options whether you want a quiet evening or an upbeat evening. The beaches were well cleaned each morning. We had no issues with the seaweed. There were a few individuals we need to recognize who went over and beyond to make our stay amazing. 1. Julio ~ greeted us on our arrival in the preferred check in. He was full of valuable information about the area and also introduced us to an opportunity to be able to travel more often. 2. Bethany ~ sweetheart all around. Thank you for all you did to help set up the yaht ride and make sure any question we had was answered. 3. Angel (black angel, Mexican chocolate) ~ part of the entertainment team. He was always smiling, always dancing, and full of energy! he got me playing volleyball and judging secrets idol...things I usually would not partake in. He has a love for entertaining and will go out of his way to make sure you have an enjoyable experience. 4. Ross ~ our pool concierge. Always smiling, always positive and willing to help in any way he could. He brought me a raft any time I asked for one, made sure we had towels, and umbrella if we needed one. He went over and beyond to make sure we had an enjoyable week. 5&6 maricella and diana ~ our pool servers~ top notch service! they called us by name, checked on us frequently and many times would have our drink ready before we asked! They never slowed down! Those two worked hard to serve everyone around us! there job is not easy but they never stopped smiling and serving! We loved seeing them every day! I would recommend secrets playa mujeres to anyone considering it! It was simply amazing!

    Honeymoon

    Reviewed by Tino H() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This place is by far the best resort the service is great from the bell man moises very awesome dude n the bartenders evaristo n William at the bar will definitely take care of y’all n show u a good time I will be back soon

    A lovely time! (Tips and tricks)

    Reviewed by FamilyTravelers99(Waterloo, Canada) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I had a fantastic time. Here’s some info that will hopefully add to info in other reviews. Nice touches: - we were celebrating our anniversary and hubby’s birthday. Birthday banner on door, champagne chilled, special shout outs on the birthday/anniversary announcements on the iPad and 10 min after we arrived a chocolate cake arrived via room service with a happy anniversary message. Thoughtful! - restaurants have these wooden bag holders for your purses/beach bags so you don’t need to jostle for space on your chair - golf carts were quick so it’s no problem to scoot from Secrets to Dreams or from rooms to restaurants - cigar rolling class was very informative and fun - kitchen tour was also informative and worth the 1 hour (1/2 hr tour and sampling, 1/2 hr wine sampling) - very clean and we all wore hair nets to keep it clean! - good entertainment crew - between hubby and I we were regulars at aqua aerobics, beach/pool volleyball, and crazy games. Some classes were more fun than others. I was particularly a fan of Berenice and Miguel. Tips - at Dreams check out the water slides (20 second cart ride) and Dolce (Ice cream shop - 2 min walk from slides) - loved the smoothie bar. I wasn’t drinking so brought a tumbler and at the end of breakfast would make a watermelon slushie with extra ice for a refreshing and healthier option (I added spinach, beet and carrot too for a little extra health kick with minimal impact to taste). Also made a natural pina colada with pineapple and coconut. Note- you can make smoothies during breakfast and lunch but some days they don’t have someone at the station (though they still have the cut up fruit) - instead you just give your plate to your waiter and they bring it back to be blended. - some waiters are more attentive than others - we loved the Luis/Orlando team at the breakfast buffet and requested their section for the 2nd half of our stay. They took such pride in their work - in an authentic way not a “let’s translate this into a tip” kinda aggressive way. - the Sundial (activities) is on the Room iPad and tv in front of breakfast buffet. Take a picture of the events on the iPad for quick reference throughout the day. Note some activities noted didn’t take place so if you’re keen on things like kayak tour, rifle shooting, pole dancing - check with entertainment team first. Also the ping pong table and batting cages were broken when we were there. - we were In Room 3123 - which was a bit noisy - however very convenient and close to barefoot grill and pool, and I wasn’t bothered as I brought ear plugs. It also had a slight oceanview which was a perk since it was listed as gardenview. - umbrellas take some getting used to to open. Pull on the spokes a bit to fan it out before pulling up on the middle portion. Rogelio was a beach/pool concierge that was very friendly and helpful. Susie was a lovely bartender that served us on the beach. Marcelo was great serving us at the barefoot grill. - enjoyed the rock show, casino night, and silence party (I was a big doubter of it, but it was super fun) - fantastic housekeeping - couldn’t be happier. Favs at each Restaurant Oceana - lunch - fish tacos / dinner - Thai salmon, crab cake appetizers Seaside grill - lunch - fish tacos, lime sorbetto dessert (they closed for Reno’s so we didn’t get to try for dinner) Barefoot grill - lunch - chicken fingers, cheeseburgers, quesadilla Portofino - osso buco, burrata salad, panacotta dessert, carbonara spaghetti Bordeaux - mussels appetizer (ask for a double order, single order is 3 mussels); French onion soup, salmon (ordered it 3 times!!!), lamb, duck breast, creme brûlée Himitsu hibachi - loved the shrimp, but all tasted yummy to us. We had a fun group which made the show even more enjoyable. - room service - we did a few late night requests (11:30pm or 12) and it took closer to 1.5hrs vs the 1 hr anticipated time, so just be aware if you’re tired! Also if you choose burger you need to click “more options” to choose how you want it cooked as medium rare is the default- we chose medium well. My favs were the Caesar salad, chicken soup, and cheeseburger. My husband also enjoyed the chicken wings. Note - they typically call shortly after you submit your order via iPad- just in case you jump in the shower later or are “busy”. ;) Overall - we enjoyed ourselves and would recommend!

    Birthday Weekend in Mexico

    Reviewed by ashley111985(Livingston, New Jersey) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Super friendly, very inviting and intensive! I’ll be sure to come back to Secrets playa mujeres golf and spa resort to see Edgar and Alexis and the rest of the crew!!! Two thumbs up!!! Honestly there is no better hotel than This one

    Honeymoon

    Reviewed by Stacy S() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed a week for our honeymoon and it was a wonderful experience! The staff is attentive and very accommodating! Edher will take excellent care of you at the breakfast buffet, which has the most delicious food here! If you go out on the beach, be sure to find Eloisa Martinez! She will bring you whatever you need all day with a smile! She is wonderful. The only restaurant that was a little disappointing was the Mexican Restaurant, both service and food. But all the other places here are fantastic! We will be back for our anniversary!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX