Meliá Las Americas

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    S

    We enjoyed our 10 year anniversary here, the beach made this place worth it!

    Reviewed by Shaun Guthrie on Feb 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    First before I even start on a review of this hotel, you really need to have the proper expectations set when coming to Cuba. This is my second time to Cuba and one must realize that if you are looking for 5 star food or 5 star resorts, this is not the country for you. You are coming to Cuba for the culture, the beautiful sandy beaches and the warm weather and for most of us Canadians, to escape the frozen tundra. We choose the Melia Las Americas resort based on the previous reviews with Tripadvisor as well my in-laws stayed at a Melia property (Melia Varadero) two years ago and they had nothing but good things to say. This resort however is an Adults only and that also appealed to us when looking for a place to stay. Our arrival was welcomed with a beverage which was great after the 45-minute bus ride however the lady behind the desk really didn?t make us feel welcome. We were offered an upgrade which another person happily showed us our original room and the upgraded room. We choose the upgraded room as they bed was an actual king and not two doubles pushed together. The bed still wasn?t like you?d expect back home, quite firm and this is pretty typical of resorts in the Caribbean. The balcony was massive (however mostly unused) and the room was a decent size as well. It was worth the few additional dollars (however could have been explained a bit better on what ?dollars? we were talking about). The room and overall areas are a bit dated as you?ll read in other reviews and to be honest you?ll find that at many of these hotels. They were built 20-30 years ago and while we saw one new hotel currently being built, there hasn?t been much in the way of newer hotels. So just be prepared for that. I suppose once more American dollars start flowing here post embargo, that will change. Even though the hotel is rated as a 5 star, it really isn?t but that?s just the way it is in Cuba and for our purpose it was fine and we enjoyed the room and hotel general area

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    a great place for beach and pools and golf vacation

    Reviewed by Luanna on Jun 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed staying at Melia Las Americas. The hotel is in a great location on the beach with a golf course within walking distance. We golfed twice and would take our clubs the next time we go. The staff was great. Maria Isabel was our maid and she was very efficient and helpful. One of the highlights of our stay was talking to Roberto, the hotel ambassador. He took us through the mansion next to the golf course and gave us a wonderful lesson on the history of Cuba. We are fussy eaters and were concerned about the food, but we made out fine . We enjoyed the specialty restaurants. Mercedes at breakfast did a wonderful job making us feel welcome. We would go back here.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6573 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Relax holidays

    Reviewed by T0nidraw(Miami, Florida) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A highly recommended option in Varadero. Room, beach and unbeatable pools. Restaurant services full of variety, for example, The Nobleza Restaurant with Cuban food, wonderful !. But something special is the reception staff of "Chabeli and Maria Rosa”, lovely!. I have no words to explain how wonderful they are!. Thank you.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wonderful holidays

    Reviewed by Andenandrun(Miami, Florida) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    All the areas are very well maintained, many of them very comfortable. The room large and comfortable, clean, views really beautiful and very important point, the air conditioning in perfect conditions. I was pleasantly surprised, with the food, quality, a lot of variety, and for all tastes, seafood, vegetables, meat, salads,…despite the problems that exists in Cuba with the lack of all kind of supplies. The beach is lovely, the color of the sea in the Caribbean is fantastic, those blue ones have been engraved on my retina. The reception staff has given us all the necessary information, in general the staff is attentive and friendly what has facilitated our stay at the Resort and in Cuba.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Excellent

    Reviewed by Avefenix77(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Surprised by the Resort, the service very good. The reception staff has given us all the necessary information, in general the staff is attentive and friendly what has facilitated our stay at the Resort and in Cuba. The buffet has variety and delicious, we would definitely recommend our visit.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Grand Resort

    Reviewed by Dianlove(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel is an all-inclusive resort. We enjoyed eating at the beach bar among the palm trees. The hotel is clean and maintained. Inside the hotel they go out of their way to help you and help you. We have managed to disconnect from work. Thank you.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Holidays

    Reviewed by Petratram(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were staying in a large suite. This one had two floors and was very comfortable, with beautiful views and without lack of detail. We had a good breakfast at the LLimoncello Restaurant; the rest of the restaurants had nice and lovely food. One of the better things, without a doubt, the staff, all of them, and especially Nelson and Batista, the joy of the pool. We return, without a doubt. Thanks for the best holidays!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX